Skip to content

Best Laid Plans….

February 9, 2010

You know how you make plans of what you are going to do and how it seems those plans get side-tracked along the way? Well, that is what has happened to me and my study on Becoming the Woman God Wants Me to Be.

A week ago Saturday, January 30, 2010 to be exact, my MIL died. That news came as a total shock as we were expecting to hear “Hi! I made it home.” Instead my husband heard his nephew say, “She’s gone.” Last week was a whirlwind in that Monday was the viewing and Tuesday was the burial, then on Friday we were hit by Snowpocalypse which knocked out our power for more than 48 hours.

It is amazing how quiet things are without the constant buzz of the electrical appliances. It is also quite scary to realize how dependent we are on electricity (our house is entirely electric which meant it got extremely cold over those 48 hours without electricity). Jeff, my dearest husband, says I handled the cold much better than expected (I tend to want to hibernate this time of year), the boys did fairly well without their TV (I do believe they are addicted though because the minute the power came back they had a DVD in and were contently watching). Cable (and therefore phone since we went with a bundle package) returned about an hour after our electric returned and as much as I hate to admit it, I eagerly went about checking my email and various boards I frequent (guess I’m as addicted to the internet as my boys are to their TV).

Hopefully, I’ll be back to the study tomorrow. Until then study what we’ve learned thus far.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

