Skip to content

My Journey to becoming a Noble Woman – Day 4

January 7, 2010

Scripture to Memorize:

A wife of noble character who can find?

She is worth far more than rubies.

Her husband has full confidence in her

and lacks nothing of value.

Proverbs 31:10-11

Passage to Read: Proverbs 31:10-12 Today’s reading tells us that a woman of noble character brings her husband good, not harm, all the days of her life. The guided prayer talked about our deepest desire should be to become a wife of noble character. The real test of our character is who we are when we think no one can see us. You see, it’s not what we do when others are watching that show who we really are; it’s those choices we make when only we and God know what we are doing. Today’s prayer is for us to strive to do what will bring glory to God and not use the excuse that we can never achieve God’s glorious perfection this side of heaven. The personal thoughts that Donna gave for today talked about how we have seen that God is our spiritual husband. So the question remains, are we the kind of women that God can have full confidence in? Have you ever thought about the idea of bringing God good and not harm? I know I typically think more about the verse in Jeremiah where God talks about His plans for good and not harm for me, but rarely do I think before I do something, does this bring God good or harm? (I mean, I’ve always figured I couldn’t harm God, He’s God after all. However, my words, deeds and thoughts can harm someone else’s relationship with God and thereby do Him harm whether or not I ever thought about it that way.) One of the things I started doing after my middle son was born was join the Mary Kay Cosmetic company as an independent beauty consultant. Why did I decide to do that? Well, one reason was I left my previous employer to stay home with my sons and care for our home full-time so I needed a replacement income. The second reason was Mary Kay’s philosophy of God first, family second, Mary Kay third. You see, that is how life should be God should be first (even before our earthly husbands), our earthly husbands second, our children third and so forth. Can God trust you to put Him first in your life? Are you trustworthy in the little things so that He can trust you in the bigger things? We each need to find an accountability partner , one with whom we can be completely open about our struggles, someone who will love us enough to tell us when we are heading the wrong way. Do you have someone like that available to you? Can you find someone or, if necessary, reach out for help from your local church or support group? (My husband is my person, who is yours?)

Practical Application: Identify areas in your life that might hold you back from becoming the woman God is calling you to be. What weaknesses, be honest, do you have? Determine to deal with them decisively, ask your accountability partner to hold you accountable. In your notebook label a sheet POWER TOOLS, on this sheet list Scripture verses, practical tips and resources to help strengthen you in your weak areas. Also note the name and number of the person you can call on for help in each area of weakness.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

