Skip to content

My journey towards becoming a Proverbs 31 Wife – Day 2

January 5, 2010

Scripture to Memorize:

A wife of noble character who can find?

She is worth far more than rubies.

Her husband has full confidence in her

and lacks nothing of value.

Proverbs 31:10-11

The passage  for today, Tuesday, is: Mark 1:36-39.  Basically this passage I believe reminds us that even Jesus took some time in a solitary place to pray and there is nothing wrong with us doing so as well.  I also, think this passage reminds us that sometimes even though everyone here is looking for us that sometimes we have a duty to fulfill outside of our homes as well as inside them and we must keep our priorities straight.  What did you get out of this reading?

The personal application part of today’s chapter was a big “Ouch!” for me!  I will be the first to admit it — I’m not a morning person, are you?  Well, the personal part suggested setting up a Prayer Oasis for your daily (morning) time with God.  (I guess my shower isn’t a very nice place to hold daily conferences with God.  I tend to take long showers and use that time to talk to God about my day before and the one coming up.  One of the reasons I started this is because it was about the only time I had alone with 3 young boys in the house.  The downside to it is — it isn’t exactly conducive to reading a Bible.)  She suggests that a Prayer Oasis be a lovely area with a Bible,Personal Notebook, and pen (again those items aren’t exactly practical in a shower).  She also goes on to quote Bruce Wilkinson observation, “I have yet to find a respected spiritual leader throughout history who had devotions at night.”  It truly does make sense to have your most important business meeting of the day first while you’re fresh.  She says that by having morning devotions it will set the agenda and the tone for the day.  Often my tone for the day is contrary simply because the boys got up and into stuff before I could have my quiet time of reflection.  (Guess I could use prayers that if I start getting up earlier the boys will sleep until I wake them up so I can have my quiet time.)

Practical application for today:

Create your special place for time alone with God.  Make this a place where you do nothing else.  Make sure you have all the tools you need (Bible, personal notebook with all your prayer requests, pens, tissues, whatever you need).  Make it the most inviting place in your home so you will want to go there to get refreshed.  Start today making it a lifetime habit.

Note where you’ll meet with God: For now, I’ll be meeting with God in my bedroom.

What time? Since I have to get up with Nick at 6:15am the mornings Jeff is at work, I’ll set the alarm for 6:00am those mornings.  My time will be divided a little as I’ll have to slip out to wake Nick at 6:15am, but I’ll typically have until about 6:30am before he’s dressed and in the kitchen.  The mornings Jeff is off, instead of sleeping in, I’ll get up and have my time then (or I’ll take the time when Jeff takes the little ones to their bus at 7:30am).

Write out your commitment to make this a lifetime habit, sign and date it.

  • Dear Lord, I hereby commit myself to giving you the first 30 minutes of my day for the next ninety days.  I believe you are a rewarder of those who diligently seek you, so I have set my heart on seeking you fist.  I believe, by faith, that one of the rewards you will give me is supernatural wisdom and the ability to conduct the affairs of my day with greater efficiency so that my TAG (Time Alone with God) will in no way diminish my effectiveness but will in fact increase it.  I sign this on January 5, 2010.  With Love, Cari S. Shepard
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

